The Art of Barter!!!

Standard

Its been a few weeks since my last post, I’m not sure where the time flys to! but trips to the beautiful seaside town of Bude to see the inlaws seem to be taking up many weekends.

summerleaze

I’ve been watching The Roux Scholarship over the past few weeks while Hubby dutifully sits pretending to watch, making lots of oohing and ahhing noises in almost the right places, while simultaneously watching clips of eighties pop on you tube, I’m engrossed in a particular episode of fondue making when hubby pipes up (bearing in mind on this culinary journey we have visited several Michelin starred restaurants) “ooh I’d love you to make some of that! you have surely got one of those fondue gadgets in your office somewhere” (my office being the kitchen according to son and heir)

“No its one of the few things I don’t possess” is my reply, a little flurry of activity on his laptop and Hubby is ready to purchase said item from amazon, I explain that maybe on one of our little jaunts to Bude perhaps we can pop into a few of the charity shops and hunt around to see if there is one lurking from the 1970’s that will be a lot more economical and fun to do (plus it will give us something to do when its tipping it down with rain) so this is hubby’s mission! He’s in and out of the many shops, explaining to the old dears that are volunteering what he is after fluttering his eyelashes, asking if they need any help having a look in the vast mountains of stock hidden in the backs of these shops, let me say he now has a following of lovely old ducks waving at him across the streets of Bude because of this venture! but its unfruitful the holy grail! “Oh well we’ll have to keep our eyes peeled for a little longer there’s no rush”

Drinky

He is easily consoled in one of the local bars The Beach Hotel

Choices

Then again in The Brendan Arms

KJ's

And finally the poor thing is placated with a heavenly chicken shish kebab from KJ’s!

Although the search is not forgotten.

IMG_0100

The in laws have hired a beach hut for the summer on Summerleaze beach, its a fantastic base for them to sit like 2 little Meerkats watching the emmets

The views are spectacular

IMG_0107

On one of our many trips around the shops I’ve spotted something I rather like and keep doing the sighing thing when peering in the shop window at my object of desire.

I gently mention to Hubby how luuuuuvly said items are “yes luv” is the reply, but my fortune seems to change on our second spin around the town, we stop outside said shop once again with me drooling over the gorgeousness of said object, “come on” says M-I-L “lets go in, I want to treat you” “Oh no you couldn’t possibly its waaay toooo expensive” is my a little too enthusiastic reply!!

IMG_0113IMG_0111IMG_0112

Soooooo we look, which one should I have? I don’t know! I can’t choose! we need a little more time and another spin around the town!!! (I must add Bude has very small quaint interlinked shopping streets) A cup of fruit tea later and the choice is made and is now safely nestling in my in laws guest room!

IMG_0110

Oh I know!

I send a photo to my daughter (The shopaholic) her immediate response “Is that for me?” We all laugh and then M-I-L announces “ask her if she would like one for her birthday” a flurry of texts confirms shopaholic would very much like one for her birthday! Oh no which one to have!!! 2 days later yes 2 whole days later shopaholic decides on her choice, the red with the blue spots – perfect!

Meanwhile the Hubby is still in search of the holy grail.

Our week is drawing to an end the weather has turned a bit muggy so we have a wander down to the Bude Canal its beautiful down there, on the way back to the apartment Hubby starts to sing at the top of his voice “look what I can see” M-I-L and myself are used to these outbursts but can only see a few flea market type stalls in the middle of a grassy triangle, he is now marching over to said stalls saying “can you see it can you see it?” We are in hot pursuit, what on earth could this be? Hubby then stops dead and does a funny whispery thing behind his hand whilst pointing at what he has spied, THE HOLY GRAIL!!!!! OMG!! Hubby saunters over, has a little flirt with the two female stall holders whilst M-I-L and I nonchalantly browse the stall with the focus being the holy grail, oh the art of distraction we don’t want to look to interested we want a bargain! its too late Hubby is in there with his “How much for the fondue set?” The two women look a little surprised that this dusty relic from a previous decade is truly looking like it wont have to be carted home! A quick conflab “£2 would that be alright?” I can’t believe my ears but my instincts tell me I should barter them down just a little for my own satisfaction, but before I can open my mouth Hubby produces his wallet rummages around pulls out a fiver and announces “I’ll give you a fiver, how’s that?”  I’m flabbergasted the two women are beside themselves and offer to “gift wrap” it, a bit more cheeky flirting from Hubby and they are going to hang on to it for him while he does a bit more site seeing and shopping!

IMG_0133

So with a spring in his step and looking extremely pleased with himself Hubby heads off back up the hill for his pasties with me trying to get my head around his topsy turvey bartering skills!

Leave a Reply

