My week

Standard

It’s all quiet in the house at this precise moment, its a Saturday morning and I can hear Hubby snoring in the room above (I know I said quiet but that gentle sound makes everything seem good in the world, but only when I’m not hitting him over the head cos I CAN’T GET TO SLEEP!!!!!) Son and heir is at work and Shopaholic is also asleep after Hubby and I picked her up from a hen party at 1am this morning those girls sure looked as though they’d had a great time!

I’m not sure but I seem to have had rather a busy week, do you know the feeling you have when you seem to have achieved loads but don’t really know how it all got done?

I continued on my upcycling mission and managed to finish this…….

IMG_0274

Yes I know the picture is upside down, but you get the idea this tray was one of my charity shop finds a whole £1.50 was paid!

And I got quite a way with this…….

IMG_0246

IMG_0251

I think its really starting to look good, I need to treat it with something to protect it but don’t want to change the colour so a little web surfing is in order. It did cause me a little bit of concern as it was M-I-L’s pride and joy but now I can’t wait for her to see it when its finished.

By midweek I was on a roll and decided to start on a yarn bombing project…….

IMG_0271

I love these little hexagon flowers, I want a sort of 3 dimensional feel to the project and found this pattern over on Karen’s blog Colour in a simple life they are so simple and quick to do and I have a bag of yarn that I’m taking with me everywhere I go so that when I get a few minutes, like when waiting for Shopaholic on various outings for her floristry appointments (I will point out that she has written he car off so I am her taxi until she gets another car) I can do a bit of quick hooky.

As the summer break from college draws to a close I thought I’d have a little wander across the road, follow the public footpath and do a spot of blackberry picking……

IMG_0257

I meandered along with my little bag looking in the hedgerows, I think I had been beaten to the ripe fruits as they were few and far between, then I happened upon this wonderfully summery sight!

IMG_0259

I wandered a little further taking in the surroundings and still hunting for blackberries

IMG_0260

IMG_0261

Can you Brinsley Headstocks peeping through the trees?

IMG_0265

 

finally along the path home I spied some ripe fruits and began to pop them in my bag and realised that they were nestling alongside a beautiful but potentially poisonous plant Deadly Nightshade!

IMG_0266

I have to admit my haul was pretty poor!

IMG_0268

We have an expectant mother in the house, Emily our Red Pyle Bantam has gathered together a clutch of eggs and has now been sitting on them for around 21 days….

IMG_0270

As the time for hatching is imminent we have her in a box in the house, she’s very intense and seems trance like, not even moving from her position of keeping the eggs warm, there are 10 eggs in total but only 2 are Emily’s (see the small white egg) the others belong to various members of our brood.

The Dark Destroyer is fascinated by proceedings!!!

IMG_0245

Its a hard life for a cat!

It was decided that we needed chocolate cake to keep our strength up for the lengthy wait.

IMG_0272

A HA the chocolate cake! I tried this recipe but added a little Amaretto to the ganache and sandwiched it together with cherry jam, satisfied with my creation I popped it in the fridge, a while later in comes the Dark Destroyer demanding his daily quota of milk! OH NO! the cake was stuck to the fridge door! and as I opened it out it shot! but with the reactions of a ninja I managed to catch it, yes I was covered in chocolate ganache and I had to do a bit of patching up and scraping some ganache of my arm but no one is any the wiser. I found the little jelly mould on one of my little mooches round my local charity shop (I was dropping off some stuff so just had to have a little look)

Vinnie is losing his feathers and being the kleptomaniac that I am I’m picking his beautiful feathers from all over the garden….

IMG_0273

Shopaholic bought me a pressie I was soooo thrilled how much of my stash can I get in this?

IMG_0215

I see a little bit of a crochet decoration for this too!

 

Leave a Reply

